Press "Enter" to skip to content

Mathews Teachers of the Year honored at board meeting

Tuesday was a night to celebrate excellence, as the Mathews County School Board recognized its three Teachers of the Year during a meeting held in the Thomas Hunter Middle School library.

The three honored educators—Lee-Jackson Elementary School second grade teacher Lee Ann Bray, THMS seventh grade science teacher Jerry Ligon and Mathews High School collaborative special education teacher LeAnne Shields—received accolades and gifts from area merchants in appreciation of their hard work and dedication.

THMS principal Mike Comer, in introducing Ligon, said that the award holds special meaning because the teachers are nominated and selected by their peers. "An opportunity to recognize excellent teachers is always appreciated," he said.

"She’s simply been the best in the business for a number of years," Lee-Jackson principal Drew Greve said, in introducing Bray, a teacher in her 17th year at the elementary school. Bray has been consistently excellent throughout...

To view the rest of this article, you must log in. If you do not have an account with us, please subscribe here.