Press "Enter" to skip to content

3 candidates qualify for special election

Three people have qualified as candidates for the Mathews County Board of Supervisors to fill the unexpired term of Marion C. “Pepper” Love.

Love resigned in February and the board subsequently appointed Michael Rowe, a former member, to fill the vacancy until a special election could be held in November.

Rowe, who filed as an independent, and two others are candidates for the seat. His opponents are Michael Schramm, an independent, and Carol J. Bova, Republican. The term will expire Dec. 31, 2021.

Three other seats on the board of supervisors are also up for election on Nov.  5, all for four-year terms that expire at the end of the year.

Six candidates, all independents, are seeking those seats. They are incumbents Edwina J. Casey and G.C. Morrow, along with Dee Russell, Jackie Ingram, Melissa F. Mason and Paul Wesley Hudgins. Seven-term incumbent Charles E. Ingram, who has served on the board since 1992, is not seeking another term.

The Mathews County ballot wil...

To view the rest of this article, you must log in. If you do not have an account with us, please subscribe here.