Press "Enter" to skip to content

Accelerated Reader Awards

Mathews High School students earned Accelerated Reader Awards and a Chick-fil-A lunch in the library for earning the highest points in the MHS Accelerated Reader Incentive Reading Program. The program was created by media specialist LaDonna Crain to encourage students to read more at the high school level. Jaxon McDonald (above), earned first place with 409 points, Sean Wolfe earned second place with 296 points and Emilee Jarvis earned third place with 233 points. A grant from the Mathews Community Foundation helped make the program possible. Award winners in the first lunch group (left photo) included, front row from left, Vic DeForge, Savannah Bass, Jordan Sadeg, Sean Wolfe, Emilee Jarvis; back row, Katelynn Mullins, Soles Small, Addison Morgan, Ivar Golden, Lilliana Humbles, Crain, and, not pictured, Angelina Justice. Members of the second lunch group winning the award were, from left, Robert Hunter Owens, Lily Bell, Brandon Webb, Mathew Williams, William Ware and Billy Henry, show...

To view the rest of this article, you must log in. If you do not have an account with us, please subscribe here.