Press "Enter" to skip to content

4 p.m. state burn law in effect

Beginning last week and continuing through April 30, Virginians are prohibited from outdoor burning before 4 p.m. when the fire is within 300 feet of the woods or dry grass.

The statewide 4 p.m. burning law applies to all open-air fires such as debris burning, campfires and charcoal grills like those found in park settings. This law does not apply to charcoal or gas-fired barbecue grills. Some exceptions to the law are made for campfires at Virginia State Parks.

To learn more about Virginia’s 4 p.m. burning law and fire prevention, visit

Violation of the burning law is a Class 3 misdemeanor and punishable with a fine up to $500. Those who allow a fire to escape may be liable for suppression costs and any resulting property damage.

“Last fall, Virginia experienced extreme fire activity that provided a stark reminder of the importance of safe burning practices,” said Virginia Department of Forestry...

To view the rest of this article, you must log in. If you do not have an account with us, please subscribe here.