Press "Enter" to skip to content

25 members inducted into GHS DuBois Honor Society

The Gloucester High School Chapter of the W.E.B. DuBois Honor Society inducted 25 new members in a ceremony at the school on May 20.

DuBois was a prominent educator, writer and civil rights leader in the late 1800s and early 1900s. He was one of the founders of the NAACP in February 1909. DuBois stated that education would be what would bring equity, justice and equality to African Americans. The W.E.B. DuBois Honor Society is based on the principles of Competency, Caring and Character.

Leading the ceremony were president Trinity Armstrong, vice president Bailey Wilson, secretary Joelle Forrest and faculty sponsor Dianne Carter de Mayo.

Students inducted were Landen Abelar, Stephen Arnold II, Josiah Autry, Max Bell, Alyanna Bishop, Heather Bonner, Dominic Davis, Raiden Easter, Jade Escobar, Alexandria Feliciano, Jermara Green, Billy Gomez, Zachary Hudson, Herman Jimenez-Cervantes, Antonio Medeiros, Jenaye Oberlin, Tovah A. Ramos, Tanysha Sanchez Ramirez, Ana Puente Rosario, M...

To view the rest of this article, you must log in. If you do not have an account with us, please subscribe here.