The Virginia Department of Forestry and fire departments throughout the state are seeking to remind the public about the 4 p.m. burn ban, which took effect on Tuesday, Feb. 15 and continues until April 30.
The law prohibits burning before 4 p.m. if the fire is in or within 300 feet of woodlands, brush, or fields with dry grass and other flammable materials.
Although Virginia also has a wildfire season in the fall, more than 60 percent of the commonwealth’s annual average of 700 wildfires happen in the spring—especially in March and April.
Many areas have had a lot of moisture recently, but Virginia is still recovering from a significant deficit last year, a VDOF release stated. Sunny days with brisk winds can easily dry out fuels, such as storm-downed limbs, increasing the potential for wildfires.
Even though burning is allowed from 4 p.m. to midnight, the Virginia Department of Forestry reminds residents to be cautious of weather conditions and winds.
“The 4 p.m. burni...
To view the rest of this article, you must log in. If you do not have an account with us, please subscribe here.