Press "Enter" to skip to content

School briefs

Melissa Hansen and Kate Watkins have each received $1,000 Walter Reed Memorial Scholarships from the Gloucester Historical Society. The annual awards are given to qualified Gloucester students majoring in archaeology, anthropology or history. Hansen is majoring in history at Mary Baldwin College and Watkins is majoring in history at Christopher Newport University. The 2011 awards were given in memory of P. Hairston Seawell.

The following local students were named to the spring semester dean’s list at Virginia Tech: Leah A. Thomas of Mathews; Sara J. Brickman of North; Stephen B. Jordan of Gloucester Point; Mackenzie H. Claytor, Karalynn D. Drechsel, Andrew P. Gallagher, Kelly A. Gilmartin, Jessica K. Kersey and Ryan C. McGinty of Gloucester; and Michael P. Clifton, Cutter M. Dunn, Caitlin L. Richmond and Jennifer N. Skidmore of Hayes. The recognition requires a 3.4 or higher grade point average.

William Martin Storrs of Gloucester, recently received a bachelor of science de...

To view the rest of this article, you must log in. If you do not have an account with us, please subscribe here.