Press "Enter" to skip to content

Ready for Tuesday’s election


Mathews County election officials had training Wednesday on election guidelines, including pandemic-related guidelines from the U.S. Centers for Disease Control. Voter Registrar Carla Faulkner, shown at left, said rules and regulations covered everything from opening the precinct to filling out forms. Since Tuesday’s election is a dual-party primary, she said, there are differences in the way certain aspects of the election will be handled. All officials will be wearing the same Stars-and-Stripes face masks. Shown, from left, are Faulkner, Westville Precinct Assistant Chief Mary Marshall and Chief David Shuber, Chesapeake Precinct Chief Janet Deschak and Assistant Chief Nelson Buchanan, Electoral Board Chair Josie Thorpe and Secretary Jeff Bohn, and Piankatank Precinct Chief Alice Stewart. Not pictured, Piankatank Assistant Chief Dawn Miller and Central Absentee Precinct Chief Carolyn Hogge and Assistant Chief Pat Hudgins.

To view the rest of this article, you must log in. If you do not have an account with us, please subscribe here.