A new Virginia law makes it illegal to hold a phone or other “personal communications device” while driving a motor vehicle on state highways. It takes effect Friday, Jan. 1.
A release from Virginia State Police said the new law exhibits that the state “is buckling down on distracted driving.”
From now on, it will be illegal to dial a phone number, send a text message, and do other things such as playing games on a smartphone while driving.
VSP advises that while police will not ask drivers to hand over a device, they can write tickets. Violations of the new law include a fine of $125 for the first offense and $250 for second and subsequent offenses. Anyone convicted of reckless driving in addition to being charged with a violation of the new law may face greater penalties, including jail time and higher fines, VSP said.
To view the rest of this article, you must log in. If you do not have an account with us, please subscribe here.