Press "Enter" to skip to content

GHS novice eight wins state crew championship

Gloucester High School novice crew members competed in their state championship, the Ted Phoenix Regatta, Saturday at Occoquan, where the novice eight women won their event by over eight seconds.

After winning their heat in 5:55.3, Kara Smith, Sara Hood, Tia Ilog, Jenna Proulx, Maddie Lee, Bailey Hamilton, Kassidy Brown, Mackenzie Marbane and coxswain Kaitlyn Thompson went on to take the championship with seconds to spare.

The GHS men’s novice eight of Gil Owens, Russell Simpson, Tristan Lee, James Lane, Ryan Brooks, Roy Adams, Aaron Parr, John Poole and coxswain Chase Holland won their heat in 5:18.4 and went on to finish fourth in the final. The Ted Phoenix event was the last of the season for the novice rowers.

The Gloucester varsity rowers spent Saturday at the final Williams Wharf regatta of the season. The mixed four of Mikaela Extine, Jeremy Frush, Joel Kidd, Maddie Hutson and coxswain Matthew Hendrix won that fun event with a time of 2:51.1.

Chris Smith, Frush,...

To view the rest of this article, you must log in. If you do not have an account with us, please subscribe here.