Press "Enter" to skip to content

Christchurch School swimmers win state title

Evan Fannin and Jason DeGraw.

Christchurch School swimmers have won the 2021 Virginia Independent School Athletic Association Division 2 State Championship, placing fourth overall among all divisions in the VISAA.

The VISAA State Swimming and Diving Championship looked a little different this year—it was done virtually, with swimmers competing in their home pools with “Proof of Time” verified submissions. The home pool for the Seahorses in the Kilmarnock Family YMCA.

Making up this year’s team are Javier Sobreviela ’21 (Playa del Carmen, Mexico), Evan Fannin ’22 (Hayes), Jason DeGraw ’21 (Gloucester), Jackson Kiland ’22 (Christchurch), Izzy Kiland (Christchurch), Lucas Qi (Shenzhen, China), Bryan Floyd (Spotsylvania), Jeb Baker (Stafford) and Evan Randall (Fredericksburg).

Sobreviela was named All-State MVP, winning first place in the 100-meter breaststroke and the 50-meter freestyle. The team won the 200-meter medley relay and the 200-meter freestyle relay. Relay swimmers...

To view the rest of this article, you must log in. If you do not have an account with us, please subscribe here.