Press "Enter" to skip to content

Arlington sailor wins Governor’s Cup

The 48th annual Virginia Governor’s Cup Regatta was held Saturday and Sunday at the Ware River Yacht Club in Ware Neck. The event attracted 39 boats that competed in seven classes.

Albacore skipper Barney Harris of Arlington, and his crew Lee Mullins won the Governor’s Cup trophy as the top winners among nine boats competing in the class. Kendra Walker and Nikki Baldwin, both of Hampton, won the Gloucester Chamber of Commerce trophy as the top junior sailors. The pair won the 420 class.

Other top finishers included Latane Montague, sailing with A.L. Braun, of Fishing Bay Yacht Club who swept the Hampton One Design class. Jon Deutsch, also of FBYC, won a competitive Laser class, and Robert Singleton of WRYC won the junior Laser class.

John Zseleczky of Severn Sailing Association in Maryland posted a pair of wins to take the Moth class, and Fred Bartlett of WRYC won the Portsmouth handicap class. WRYC commodore Clayton James served as chairman for the 2012 regatta.


To view the rest of this article, you must log in. If you do not have an account with us, please subscribe here.