Mathews school employees recognized at awards ceremony

- Posted on Jun 22, 2011 - 03:42 PM

Two administrators and 12 teachers who are leaving the employment of Mathews County Public Schools were recognized last Wednesday during the division’s annual awards ceremony.

Mathews High School retirees recognized were principal Dave Malechek, who served a total of eight years, and building trades teachers Hirbry Payton, with 35 years of service, and Van Johnston, 26 years. Teachers who turned in their resignations were Janice Parker, English, and Phillip Sanderson, math.

Retiring from Thomas Hunter Middle School were assistant principal Linda Killmeier, who had 18 years of service, and teachers Jean Hatch, art, with 36 years of service, and Tammy Turner, special education, eight years.

Those who retired from Lee-Jackson Elementary School were Nan Cross, second grade, who served for 28 years, and Aileen Hernandez, special education teacher assistant, with 14 years. In addition, four employees turned in their resignations—Kim West, Jennifer Smith, Lynn Perigny, and Jessica Hatch.