Gloucester High School seniors honored at annual awards assembly

- Posted on Jun 08, 2011 - 04:47 PM

The Senior Awards Assembly for the Gloucester High School Class of 2011 was held May 26 at the school. Awards were presented as follows:

Early Childhood Education Certificates—Brittany Balderson, Elizabeth Bish, Jessica Bulger, Ashleigh Coats, Ashley Haley, Shyanna Hogge, Ashleigh Koleski, Caitlin Latham, Kalicia Morgan, Ashley Nickels, Katy Rarey, Michelle Rush, Alexander Turner and Angie Zierow.

U.S. Army Reserve National Scholar/Athlete Award—Robert Ellison and Lauren Peck.

U.S. Marine Corps Distinguished Athlete Award—Zackery Tarpey and Kristen Hickman.

U.S. Marine Corps Scholastic Excellence Award—Jessica Edington.

U.S. Marine Corps Semper Fidelis Award for Musical Excellence—Kristina Watkins.

Television Production Student of the Year—Donald Edgerly.

Outstanding Achievement in French—Patrick Carter, Jordan Cheresnowsky, Ashley Worrell, Aubriellen Drechsel and Jordan Middleton.

Outstanding AP Spanish Student—Garrett Hendrickson.

Spanish Club Award—Jessica Edington.

Virginia Junior Classical League Awards—Gabriel Brown, Nathanial Millard, Patrick Rice, David Shields and Melisa Williamson.

Outstanding Latin Student—Gabriel Brown.

Excellence in English—Jessica Edington.

Excellence in Journalism—Jordan Cheresnowsky and Jessica Edington.

Senior Boards Beyond Excellence Awards—Lee Anderson, Samantha Boyd, Taylor Brown, Amanda Burak, Shelby Dyke, Catherine Enz, Branch Lackes, Gary McMullen, Joley Miner, Deana Nutter, Ashley Polk, Trevor Rudisill, Ellen Stringer and Austin White.

Debate Award and Forensics Award—Garrett Hendrickson and Megan Wilson-Bost.

Science Awards—Wes Bartell, Anne Delusa, Garrett Hendrickson, Morgan Sadler, David Shields and Laura VanGieson.

Mathematics Awards—Calculus AB, Rachel Pollard; Calculus BC, Jessica Edington; Statistics, Garrett Hendrickson.

Junior State of America Outstanding Seniors—Jessica Edington, Chaise Horn, Jessica Myers, Tyler Norris, Faith Pollard, Ahnya Smith, Ellen Stringer and Melisa Williamson.

Cosmetology—Debra Allen, Kayla Belvin, Amanda Case, Darcy Clark, Jucoby Davis, Tierra Davis, Shelby Dyke, Rebecca Fellinger, Kristi Grant, Sarah Hall, Torri McNeil, Krista Norman, Nikkisue Pearson, Samantha Prince, Artarya Ward and Haley Wikle.

Homer R. Mullinax Award for Automotive Excellence—Johnathan Gueffroy.

William A. Clements Mechanic of the Year—Trevor Rudisill.

FBLA Cords—Holly Shipley.

Accounting I—Amanda Jurgenson.

Business Law—Holly Jackson and Jillian Shuck.

Advanced Accounting—Holly Shipley.

Business Management—Scott Leonard.

National Financial Capability Challenge—Charis Boyd and Amber Heck; Scored in the national top 10 percent—Scott Leonard.

CTE Certificate of Appreciation—Darcy Clark, Briona Jeter, Letitia Lockley and Lauren Pryor.

Computer Integrated Manufacturing—Joseph Imperiale, Brandon Morrison, Paul Perecko and Wesley Bartell.

Electronics II—Arpan Patel.

Drum Major—Ayla Hay and Kristina Watkins.

Jazz Award—Aaron Reeves.

Director’s Awards—Aaron Reeves, Christianne King, Aubriellen Drechsel and Sarah Hade.

Most Improved Thespian Award—Tierra Davis.

Technical Thespian Award—Jordan Middleton.

ITS Outstanding Actress and Actor—Deana Nutter and Cameron Harper.

ITS Thespians of the Year—Samantha Boyd and Kelsey Harper.

Key Club—Samantha Boyd and Holly Shipley.

Outstanding Senior Art Student—Patrick Carter.

Art Citizenship Award—Ashlyn Woods.


National Art Honor Society—Patrick Carter, Samantha Crandol, Elizabeth Emerson, Austin White and Ashlyn Woods.

NJROTC Awards—Leadership, Taylor Joyce; Academics, April Twist; Citizenship, Jesse Pearsall.

NJROTC Blue and Gold Cords—Diane Compagnone, Wendi Elliott, Jamie Hamm, Carissa Johnson, Taylor Joyce, Rachel Marchant-Jones, Amanda Nelms, Kira Parkin, Jesse Pearsall, Tommy Rivera, Koty Rollins, Matthew Sheehan, Edward Timberlake, Penny Timberlake, April Twist, Matthew Twist and Austin White.

Outstanding Student Assistant—Rebecca Hicks.

SCA—President, Laura VanGieson; Vice President, Christianne King; Treasurer, Wendi Elliott.

Senior Class—President, Carl Dudley; Vice President, Ashley Worrell; Secretary, Codie Krahn; Treasurer, Michael Bendit.

SADD—Chad Bell, Tiffany Burse and Jasmine Mathis.

W.E.B. Dubois Honor Society Awards—Xzavier Darden, Robert Ellison, Jared Fore, Taylor Joyce, Jasmine Mathis, Arpan Patel, Jacqueline Rakentine and Ahnya Smith.


National Honor Society Service Recognition—Ashleigh Polk, Kathryn Prochnow and Jordan Cheresnowsky.

Chesapeake Bay Governor’s School—Lukas Mohnach and Alexander Stephens.

New Horizons Governor’s School—Devon Gardner, Katie Paugh and Jacquelyn Rakentine.

Athletes of the Year—Elisabeth Drake and Shamar Marsh.

Senior Leadership Award—Wesley Bartell, Taylor Joyce and Soraya Teschner.

Best All Around Award—Perry Morris and Jordan Cheresnowsky.

Excellence in Activities—Aaron Reeves and Deana Nutter.

Great Expectations Award—Garrett Hendrickson and Jessica Edington.

Courageous Spirit Award—Jacob Warner and Amanda Burak.

Unsung Heroes Award—Jesse Pearsall, Aubriellen Drechsel and Kristen Hickman.

Michael Haury Humanitarian Award—Matthew Twist and Samantha Boyd.