Four from MHS earn AP Scholar designation

- Posted on Sep 22, 2010 - 04:43 PM

Four 2010 graduates of Mathews High School—Amber Fauber, Leland Machen, Matthew Mann, and Michael Sanderson—have earned the designation of AP Scholar by the College Board, in recognition of exceptional achievement on the college-level Advanced Placement exams.

The College Board’s AP program provides motivated and academically prepared students with the opportunity to take rigorous college-level courses while still in high school, and to earn college credit, advanced placement, or both, for successful performance on the exams. About 18 percent of the more than 1.8 million high school students worldwide who took AP exams performed at a sufficiently high level to also earn an AP Scholar Award.