Primary voters to select GOP hopefuls for sheriff, U.S. Senate

- Posted on Apr 04, 2012 - 02:09 PM

Gloucester County will not be having a dual primary for June 12, 2012, according to registrar Bobbi Morgan.

Morgan said she spoke with Virginia State Board of Elections Monday and a representative stated that Gloucester County will have a Republican primary only with candidates for U.S. Senate and Gloucester sheriff on the ballot.

In the local GOP race, current Sheriff Darrell Warren and former Gloucester Sheriff’s Office employee Jim Ledbetter will be on the Gloucester ballot. Meanwhile, four Republican candidates have been certified for the U.S. Senate primary—Jamie Radtke, Bob Marshall, George Allen and E.W. Jackson, according to state party chairman Pat Mullins.

Former Gov. Tim Kaine is unopposed in his bid for the Democratic Party’s nomination for Senate and that party will not be holding a primary.