Seven vie for Mathews school board vacancy

by Charlie Koenig - Posted on Sep 15, 2010 - 04:03 PM

Seven candidates, including two former Mathews County School Board members, have filed for the vacancy on the board created when Dr. Michael Richards stepped down at the end of August for health reasons.

The seven had the opportunity to introduce themselves to their prospective school board colleagues during a special meeting Tuesday night at the Mathews High School media center.

Those vying for the interim appointment are former school board and board of supervisors’ member Michael C. Rowe of North, former school board member Anne Wortham of Cobbs Creek, Lanell W. Jarvis of Foster, Stephanie Marie Todd of Port Haywood, Doris J. Foster-Curseen of Cardinal, Robert Calvin Sherrill Jr. of Grimstead, and Edwin B. Tucker Jr. of North.

The school board is expected to make its appointment at Tuesday night’s regular monthly meeting. Richards’s term expires at the end of 2011.

During Tuesday’s public hearing, the candidates were allowed to address the board in alphabetical order.